The Biggest Lessons I Learned on Medium After 30 Days

After hitting the ‘Publish’ button many times last month, here are my thoughts on earnings, curation, and the growing pains of being a new writer.

Abby Cheval
9 min readMay 1, 2021
Photo of young woman holding a plant.
Photo: Author.

With April now behind us, I’m sad to think that the challenge I had made for myself has now come to an end. At the beginning of the month, I had announced that I’d be returning to Medium full-force in order to revive my love for writing.

It was definitely a hard process some days, but very exciting and fulfilling on most. And while I did fail to produce work on 3 out of the 13 days I’d promised to publish, the stories and stats I made along the way imbued me with a sense of accomplishment I have long craved.

So to bid my top writing goals in April 2021 farewell, here’s what I have learned since I started writing again in the past (almost) 30 days. I did promise to be transparent and share my stats with you so as to see how the process looks for a new Medium writer with a small readership. This is what it gave me, and what it can also teach or remind you about your own Medium journey.

Note: Before I dive in, I also want to point out that my observations based on my stats does not apply to everyone who starts on Medium. My experience will…

--

--

Abby Cheval

Millennial, noncommittal romantic, walking the tightrope between hope and depression. Sounds like you too? I’ll write something for both of us.